Am I Being Too Much of a Liberal?

Today, as I sit and read about Mahatma Phule, and all the work he did to eradicate the orthodox thoughts from the society, I cannot help but laugh that after years of struggle of these social reformers, here I am still struggling, and still fighting it.

I live in one of the most reputed areas of Pune, which is home to the majority of high class population of the city. Imagine my disappointment when I was told I cannot talk to my own friends in the vicinity of my apartment, that I would have to go outside and greet those who have come to see me.

So here we are, today’s youth, even the good of the lot who are struggling to make the city a better place, having to fight such ridicules. And what is worse is that instead of raising a voice against it, my fellows choose to apologize for their “immoral behavior”.

I understand we come from a country which has the highest regard for its morals. So yes, question me if I walk out in public in a revealing outfit, object, if I am standing there kissing someone, but if I have to answer someone even if I wish to talk to my friends, that’s certainly something that I am not going to agree to. Because the next thing I know is I am not even supposed to be seen with my own husband in public.

Really, is it just me who thinks that it is absolutely ridiculous that something like this be happening today?

Am I being too much of a liberal?

Leave a Reply

